Combat Baby

23 02 2010

I know I know the combat shorts from League were all over the feeds this weekend.  Normally, I try not to blog something if it’s sort of covering the feeds or, at the very least, I wait a week or two. Not this time though.  I’m not waiting a week to post about them because these shorts are just that damn fantastic.

I’ve long been a fan of League; after all the Garage Jeans are still my favorite pair of jeans in SL.  Nena Janus does an amazing job on her creations and the new combat shorts are yet another example of her fine attention to detail and stunning textures.  These shorts are so realistic; you’d think you could reach out and touch the fabric.  I’m not usually one for camo anything, but I love these shorts.  I especially love the little details and the fact that the belt and the handkerchief and belt in the leg pocket are scripted for color change.  And that handkerchief is a perfect example of fine attention to detail.

When I can zoom in on such a small part of the overall design and see a stunning texture, I am sold.  And also…I love that little skull!  I also love the dog tags hanging from the back.  These shorts come with three belt options for that perfect fit, but also have a resize script should you need further adjusting.

For the overall look, I decided to go a little industrial cute and paired the League Combat Shorts with the Six Underground dress from Miseria, only wearing the shirt layer so that it was a top instead of a dress.  My boots are from the now gone forever WRONG, but you could add any pair of flat-heeled stompy boots to this look.  The hair is a new find that my friend Charise recently pointed out to me and it’s by a store called Ay.Line.  Kurumi is a really cute take on pigtails and I really loved the combination of this cute hair with the harder edge of the clothing and boots.

My accessories are many and varied, though a majority of them come from my favorite piercing store, [skream!].  The WTF mouth piercing was a group gift and I absolutely adore it.  I’ve been saying that a lot lately, so the timing of that gift was rather appropriate.  My tummy studs, earrings, and ring are also from [skream!].  The Ménage a Trois ring is just so fun and also somewhat appropriate for my life right now.  I wonder if Jacqueline Cliassi is psychic?  If you have not been to [skream!] yet, I really must push you in that direction.  I own almost 95% of that store.  Seriously.  Go. NOW. Her stuff is fantastic.

I also added the 7 Luck bracelets from Mandala for a touch of chic and the Polaroid Picture Changing Necklace from Little Nuisance for a touch of whimsy and fun.  The tattoo peeking over the waistband of the shorts is from a store called Little Pricks, which is located with or is part of Skin Deep.  It’s the “Nourish Me, Destroy Me” tattoo, which is based on one of Angelina Jolie’s tattoos.  The words are Latin for “What nourishes me also destroys me.”  I’ve always found that saying to be incredibly profound and I love this tattoo.

Overall, the look turned out to be incredibly fun and it’s one I’ll wear out often.  So if you’ve been trying to decide on whether or not to grab the combat shorts from League, I’d say they’re a definite must have.  Because of the color changing scripts on the accessories, they’re incredibly versatile and a fun addition to your SL wardrobe.  Not to mention, they are fantastically textured.  Did I mention how much I love the textures?  Because I do, I really do.

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info:
Skin: ::Exodi:: – Shiloh (Honey), Silent Lt Brows
Eyes: Fusemelon – Radiance Eyes, Midday
Eyelashes: Glam Affair – Regina Eyelashes 10
Hair: AY.Line – Kurumi, Komugi
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Black
Tattoo: Little Pricks – Nourish me/Destroy Me
Shirt: Miseria – Six Underground Dress, Sapphire (wearing only shirt layer)
Shorts: Leauge – Combat Shorts, Grey Female Fit
Boots: WRONG – ShytKickers, Blue Laces
Jewelry: Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud
[skream!] – “WTF” piercing **GROUP GIFT**
[skream!] – Tummy Studs
[skream!} – Bedazzled Hoops
[skream!] – Menage a Trois Ring
Mandala – 7 Luck Bracelets
Sensations – Barbarian Princess Collar
Little Nuisance – Polaroid Picture Changing Chain

Poses:
Photo #1:  Diesel Works – Piper 7
Photo #4:  Diesel Works – Piper 8
Photo #6:  Diesel Works – Piper 1

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

