Urban Comfort

1 12 2009

This Friday, December 4th, my friend and DJ extraordinaire Maht Wutys will be spinning a 26-hour set for charity.  Yes, you read that right.  26 consecutive hours of music, and all of the tips he receives will be donated to Heifer International.  I’ve put the promo poster for the gig at the end of this post for those that might be interested in stopping by to hang out for a bit and support a good cause.  For those who donate, Maht will have a special box full of goodies donated by some of the fabulous designers we all know and love.  I will also have some special items to hand out to those who donate while I’m there trying to keep the DJ from falling asleep.  I’ll blog more about those things later this week.  But since I have the overnight shift (7 p.m. to 3 a.m. slt), I decided to put together something comfy to wear that night. 

I wanted something casual but with the urban flair I am quite fond of.  After all, I will be at a club listening to mostly indie/alternative/rock music…urban cool is called for, I think.  I started with a recent purchase from the Winterstock event, the Kettle Corn Cardigan by Surf Couture.  This shirt is super cute and looks incredibly comfortable.  I love the buttons and the wrinkles on the sleeves.  It comes in a variety of colors, but I chose the gray option with the light purple undershirt. This particular shirt/undershirt combo does not come on separate layers, so you can’t really mix and match the colors, but there are several color combinations to choose from.

Keeping comfort and style in mind, I decided to pair the cardigan with one of my favorite pairs of jeans, the Garage Jeans by League.  These jeans are so sexy and I love the prim pocket attachment and the color change hankie is pure genius.  The boots are another favorite item, the Ving Boots by Shiny Things.  They’re not only fantastically comfy and stylish, they’re good stompy boots.  One needs stompy boots while dancing, I say.

Almost all of the jewelry/piercings I am wearing come from [skream!].  If you’ve not been there I urge you to go and check it out.  I absolutely LOVE this store.  It’s one of my new favorite places to shop.  The piercings, especially, are quite well made.  I believe I have almost everything in that store by now and I can’t wait to see what Jacqueline Cliassi releases next.  The hair is from Magika, Lust in Brown A. 

This is really a very simple, casual, and comfortable look with a bit of urban flair.  By taking a new piece and pairing it with lots of old favorites, I’ve created something new and fun to wear to the 26 hour DJ set.  If you’re around Friday/Saturday stop by the Velvet and see if the DJ is still awake.  If he is you can listen to some good music, dance and chat, donate to a good cause, and grab yourself some fantastic freebies in the process.  It’s a win-win.

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio
Promotional Poster by Maht Wuyts

Model Info:
Skin: ::Exodi:: – Shiloh (Honey), Nosferatu (LtBRows)
Eyes: ::Exodi:: – Twilight Eyes, Edward **GIFT**
Eyelashes: Beauty Avatar – Regina Eyelashes 10
Hair: Magika – Lust, Brown A
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Black
Shirt: Surf Coture – Kettle Corn Cardigan Top, Gray
Jeans: League – Garage Jeans, Cool Blue
Boots: Shiny Things – Ving Boots, Black
Jewelry: Inks & Kinks – Nostril Diamond Stud
WRONG – Sanity Jelly Bracelets
[skream!] – padlocked ring
[skream!] – prickle bracelets
[skream!] – tummy studs
[skream!] – the beauty mark piercing
[skream!] – Female Scattered Beads Necklace

Poses:
Photo #1:  Diesel Works – Shake #7
Photo #2:  Diesel Works – Shake #7
Photo #3:  Striking Poses – Full Tilt_6
Photo #4:  Diesel Works – Shake #7

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

