Strange As Angels

13 11 2009

Though there are all sorts of fun items for sale there, I’ve long considered Balderdash to be one of the best jewelry stores on the grid.  Saiyge Lotus makes unique and beautiful pieces of wearable art and it’s obvious she puts a little bit of herself into each creation.  Her latest set is called Strange As Angels and it is really quite lovely.  Saiyge was kind enough to gift me with this necklace and earring set in all of its colors, and I knew that I had to put some outfits together to showcase the versatility of this wonderful design.  For the first look, I decided to channel my business partner and go purple but with my own urban flare, of course.

strangerpurple_013 copy

This look started with the purple version of Strange As Angels. 

strangerpurple_010 copy

The Robin Artist Jeans in nightsky by Leezu were next.  I adore these!  Thankfully, shredded jeans are back in style and this set by Leezu has the perfect amount of “shreds”.  The term “Artist Jeans” certainly fits this pair, with the graffiti and star and heart patterns on the legs.  I thought the heart on the jeans tied in nicely with the necklace from Balderdash.  You can wear these jeans plain if you prefer, but really where is the fun in that?

For the top, I put on the Spray Paint Kitty t-shirt from Urban Dare.  It comes with several options for layering, including a thermal you can wear underneath and you can get it individually, or as a completely outfit with shorts and socks.   Speaking of Urban Dare, they have some wonderful high rise penthouse apartments for rent.  If you’re looking for a relatively inexpensive city type pad, you should check them out.  We can be neighbors!  These photos were shot at the Bansai Noodle Shop on Urban Dare.  Even if you don’t need an apartment, this is a fantastic SIM with lots of fun photo ops for you to check out.

I wanted a jacket with this look, and after some searching, I remembered the Denim Washed Demi Jacket from Moonshine.  Shelly Toonie sent this over in a “Bloggy Bag” a few weeks ago, and I’d not gotten around to unpacking it yet.  I’m glad I waited because it was perfect for this look.  I really love the front tie on this and the design on the back.  It does come in a plain version as well.  The back of Strange As Angels is just as lovely in the front with these two delicate hearts hanging down the back.  That is  such a lovely artistic touch and it gives this piece a touch of whimsy as well.

strangerpurple_004 copy

The boots are from Shiny Things; Ving Boots in Black.  These are my go to boots for any urban look and probably in my top ten favorite items on SL list.  You really can’t go wrong with them.  For hair, I knew immediately that I wanted Sneaky by Magika.  I’m wearing it in an older purple that I don’t believe is available any longer.  However, they do have a new purple that is just lovely…unfortunately, I did not have it at the time I shot these photos.  The headband is scripted for color change, which I love.  Another thing I love about this hair is the way it sort of floats around your face as you move.  Gorgeously done.  The eyes and skin are from ::Exodi:: and the piercings are from [skream!].

strangerpurple_002 copy

In order to show the versatility of Strange As Angels by Balderdash, I decided to go ultra feminine girly with the second look.  I paired the Strange As Angels set in Ocean with the Alison Tunic Dress by Malt.

strangeocean_012 copy

I’m wearing Blue Sky here but it comes in several different colors for you to choose from.  I actually first saw this dress on a client and couldn’t believe how lovely it was.  I think this may be the first time I’ve ever worn a flower pattern like this, but the dress is just so well made I couldn’t not have it.  It’s very flirty and feminine and a bit retro.  I paired it with the Ju hair by Magika.  This gorgeous updo is fun and flirty.  I love the back; it looks like you have little rosettes on the back of your head.  I’m not sure you can get more feminine than this.

strangeocean_016

The skin is Sienna (Cachet) in Tinsel from ::Exodi::  This is the newest line from ::Exodi:: and it’s simply stunning.  It doesn’t quite work for my av as well as Shiloh, but I love the skin so much I’m willing to make a shape just for it.  I’ve not quite gotten it looking like me yet, but I will. 

strangeocean_014 copy

Oh, and the shoes are from Maitryea Gold; Esprit in Black.  Love, Love, LOVE! 

So here you have two very different looks with the same set of jewelry.  Strange As Angels is a fantastic edition to the Balderdash collection.  If you’ve not been there, I urge you to stop reading and GO!  Okay, well maybe finish reading first, but seriously do check it out.  Her designs are incredibly well done, unique, and versatile.  What more could you ask for?

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info:
Outfit #1:
Skin: ::Exodi:: – Shiloh (Honey) – Silent, Lt Brows
Eyes: ::Exodi:: – Look Into My…Rainbows, Purple **LUCKY CHAIR ITEM**
Eyelashes: Beauty Avatar – Regina Eyelashes 10
Hair: Magika – Sneaky, Dark Purple
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Black
Shirt: Urban Dare – Spray Paint Kitty Outfit, White (Shirt only)
Jacket: Moonshine Designs – Demi Jacket, Denim Washed **REVIEW ITEM**
Pants: Leezu Baxter – Robin Artist Jeans, Nightsky (Artist)
Boots: Shiny Things – Ving Boots, Black
Jewelry: Balderdash – Strange As Angels Set (necklace & earrings), Purple **REVIEW ITEM**
[skream!] – tummy studs
[skream!] – the beauty mark piercing

Outfit #2:
Skin: ::Exodi:: – Sienna (Cachet) – Tinsel (Dk/C) (Eyebrows from the Shiloh Skin)
Eyes: ::Exodi:: – Look Into My…Rainbows (Blue) (Lg/V) **LUCKY CHAIR ITEM**
Eyelashes: Beauty Avatar – Regina Eyelashes 10
Hair: Magika – Ju, Brown D
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Slate
Dress: Malt Fashions – Alison Tunic, Blue Skies **GIFT CARD PURCHASE**
Shoes: Maitreya Gold – Esprit, Black
Jewelry: Balderdash – Strange as Angels Set (necklace and earrings), Ocean **REVIEW ITEM**
Caroline’s Jewelry – Individual, a Right Hand Ring

Poses:
Photo #1:  LostAngel – Spring Fever #9
Photo #2:  LostAngel – Spring Fever #9
Photo #3:  LostAngel – Summer Crash #8
Photo #4:  LostAngel – Summer Crash #2
Photo #5:  Long Awkward Pose – GG1-Joan-PR4
Photo #6:  Long Awkward Pose – GG1-Joan-PR4
Photo #7:  Long Awkward Pose – GG1-Joan-PR4

Actions

Information

One response

13 11 2009
Shelly Toonie

Great look Arcadia! I must say I’m thrilled to be featured in the same post as Saiyge–one of the most unique and talented people I’ve come across.
Thank you!

Leave a Reply

