Amuck, Amuck, Amuck!

19 10 2009

Costume season is upon us as the most important holiday of the year approaches.  I’m a big fan of both buying ready to wear costumes and throwing together your own by mixing and matching things you already own.  I’ll be showing you a bit of both as the holiday approaches so that you can decide how to come up with that perfect Halloween look.  To that end, I thought I’d show you the first costume I mixed and matched into existence this October.  And since it is almost the witching hour, a sexy witch costume seems in order.

witchy_062p

This look started with my favorite new item this Halloween season: the AmuckAmuckAmuck hat by Balderdash.  Whichever way you choose to spell it, the AmuckAmuckAmuck! hat is too fun to pass up.  The incredibly talented Saiyge Lotus has created a lovely witchy hat with lots of character and appeal.  It’s so realistic I want to reach out and touch it. The black lace that hangs slightly over the eye is a lovely touch, and I love the skull and purple rose accents she has added here.

witchy_049p

I paired it with the Twilight Ragged dress by PixelDolls.  This is one of the sexiest dresses PixelDolls has made in quite some time.  It’s fantastically designed, and the texture is stunning. It comes with two different sleeve options so you can change them as needed depending on what look you intended.  The crocheted bodice of this dress is lovely and very flattering.  It actually gives the illusion that my av has large breasts, lol.  And it is no secret that I’m a huge fan of the tiered net skirts PixelDolls does so well. 

witchy_054 copy

 The corset with it’s many belts is a fantastic detail, and i love the combination of textures on this outfit.  It’s complex and visually stunning.  Add some fishnet stockings and your favorite thigh high boots for an incredibly sexy witch costume.

For jewelry, I went with one of the new releases at Earthstones: Mystic Pentacle Set in Elemental.  The pentacle is a very important symbol to me in rl, and I am overjoyed when I see a version in SL so well crafted as this set.  It’s simply lovely, and I would love to have it in RL.  It comes in several color options, but I thought Elemental would work best for my witchy self.

witchy_050p copy

The skin is from ::Exodi::, Shiloh (Honey) in Silent.  I wanted to tie in the purple roses on the hat somehow, and this seemed the best way.  The hair is still Lust by Magika in Black A.  I rarely take it off these days.  My glowing eyes are from The Plastik – Mourn, New Orleans.  These were a gift on one of the many hunts I’ve done, and they are prim eyes which I don’t wear very often.  However, I thought these were well done and they make for pretty glowy witchy eyes, even if they are pink.
 
Now, props are an important part of any good Halloween outfit and/or photo, as in this case.  To create my lovely witchy photo, I went to MDR’s Spooky Forest Box, which is actually called the Moon Beam Sky box and was created by Devoid Aeon.  I’m not exactly sure where Cajsa purchases this for MDR, but it is one of my favorite places to shoot.  The house, pumpkins, broom, and other fun stuff is from La Petite Morte and is their special Halloween photo set.  Voshie Paine creates lovely little photo sets, and I really enjoyed this Halloween version.  I did switch out the cauldron though because I wanted some colored smoke for the photos. 

witchy_016p

This fantastically realistic looking cauldron is the Double Double Toil and Trouble Cauldron from Balderdash.  I have the purple smoke, but it comes in several sizes and color options.  The wood burning underneath it is also from Balderdash, the “Once I was a tree, oh wood is me, wood is me,” set.  I had to buy it just because of the name, but it really is very well done.  It also comes in several size.  I love the fire on this, and combined with the purple smoke from the cauldron, it made for some interesting effects, as you can see in the photos here. All of these effects were captured in world.  Balderdash has a fantastic selection of high quality Halloween decorations.  I have most of it out at the studio, including a lovely blue lady spirit who hangs out in the gallery.

This should show you how incredibly easy it is to mix and match a costume into existence.  I had a lot of fun putting  this outfit together and I highly recommend playing around and seeing what kind of Halloween looks you can create.

 

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info:
Skin: ::Exodi:: – Shiloh (Honey) – Silent, Lt. Brows
Eyes: The Plastik – Mourn, New Orleans **HUNT GIFT**
Eyelashes – Beauty Avatar – Regina , Eyelashes 10
Hair: Magika – Lust, Black A
Hat: Balderdash – AmuckAmuckAmuck!
Dress: PixelDolls – Twilight Ragged, Black
Stockings: Mischief – Vexed, Part of a full outfit
Boots: J’s – Side Lace Up Thigh High Boots, Black
Jewelry: Earthstones – Mystic Pentacle Set, Elemental
[skream!] – Delicate Fangs Piercing

Poses:
Photo #1:  Reel Expression – *Luth* – Innocence 05
Photo #2:  Essential Soul – Jazz Fingers
Photo #3:  Essential Soul – Jazz Fingers
Photo #4:  Essential Soul – Jazz Fingers
Photo #5:  ‘Ana_Mations – BabyDoll4_chest’

Actions

Information

6 responses

20 10 2009
annabelladonner

Darn you, Arcadia, I have had Saiyge’s hat in my inv for a couple of weeks but hadn’t figured out how to use it yet. I do love the touch of lace hanging off the brim.

Great look and, as always, wonderful photos!

20 10 2009
Serene Fairey

My favoritest line from a Halloween movie ever! AMUCK AMUCK AMUCK!!

20 10 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Thanks, Annabella. 🙂 It took me about a week or so to figure out what to wear with that hat but once I did, it clicked into place fairly easily. I’m sure you’ll come up with something wonderful as well.

20 10 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

It’s definitely mine as well. And if I had to guess, I’d bet Saiyge would agree. 🙂

After I bought the hat in SL, I went out and bought the movie on DVD. I shall watch it on Halloween night and giggle hysterically.

20 10 2009
Cajsa Lilliehook

Great outfit, great photos, great setting! Well worth the wait!!!!

20 10 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Aw, thanks Caj. Glad you liked it. Thanks for buying the spooky forest box, lol.

Leave a Reply

