Gothic Opulence

15 07 2009

With all of the bright summer fun I’ve been having lately, it was inevitable that my Gothy side would demand to come out and play.  A few weeks ago, I met Sascha Frangilli, and she invited me to her store, Sascha’s Designs.  If you’ve not been there, you should take some time to go and look around.  It’s huge, and the sheer number of gowns she has available is amazing.  While perusing the store and chatting with Sascha, my eyes were drawn to a dress called Black Widow, and I knew I had to have it.  Sascha was kind enough to gift it to me, and I decided to blog it the next day.  Well, things happen in RL and SL, and I get behind on my blogging.  I know, shocking  isn’t it?  But finally, tonight I had a reason to get it out of the “to blog” folder, dust it off, and put it on.  Because not only was my inner Goth ready to play, she was also feeling a bit princess-y.  Those two sides of my personality do not work together very often, but when they do the result is usually something I like to call “Gothic Opulence.”

black widow (2)

Black Widow is a stunning gown, fit for any beautiful princess, be she Gothy or otherwise. I love the shape of the bodice–the way it dips way down low is super sexy, and the skirt moves beautifully I must say.  The pattern on the bodice is repeated on the bottom of the silver skirt, as shown in the photos.  Now, I was in the spooky forest box at MDR, and it makes the oddest things glow, so the skirt itself does not glow, but the spooky light does highlight the pattern quite well.

black widow

black widow (3)

The dress immediately made me think of Underworld, when all the lavishly dressed vampires are lounging around, and I decided to have a bit of fun and go Vampy with it.  I paired it with the Chouli hair by Deviant Kitties in Silver because the texture is beautiful, and though it’s basically pigtails, there is something very sinister about it.  For skin, I chose the  Nosferatu makeup version of the Shiloh (Honey) skin by ::Exodi::.  Was there ever any other choice?  The jewelry is the Fleur set by Alienbear because it’s opulent but not gaudy, and the draping of the necklace went well with this dress.  Oh, and don’t mind the fangs dripping blood.  I promise they came that way. 😉

black widow (1)

Sascha’s Designs is definitely worthy of a shopping excursion. And don’t let my descent into darkness fool you. There are a multitude of gowns in a rainbow of colors, including wedding dresses, bridesmaid’s dresses, and ballgowns.  Something for everyone is definitely a slogan that fits here.

 

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info:
Skin: ::Exodi:: – Shiloh (Honey), Nosferatu
Eyes: ::Exodi:: – Vetro Eyes, Black sm noveins **Blogger Appreciation Week Gift via Gift Card**
Hair: Deviant Kitties – Chouli, Silver
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Black
Pedicure: Candy Nail – #000 Basic Toenails, Black
Dress: Sascha’s Designs – Black Widow Silver **REVIEW ITEM**
Shoes: B/W Designs – Princessa Fantasy Black Stiletto Platform
Jewelry:
Nose Piercing – Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud
Alienbear Designs – Le Fleur Set, Red
Fangs – Freebie pair, unknown designer

Poses:
Photo #1:  Reel Expression – *Luth* Shoes 01
Photo #2:  Striking Poses – Rhianna_10 
Photo #3:  forgot to write it down…bad blogger, no cookie.
Photo #4:  Reel Expression – *Luth* Shoes 01

Actions

Information

One response

15 07 2009
Gothic Opulence « iheartsl.com Second Life’s largest community blog

[…] Gothic Opulence 2009 July 14 tags: ::Exodi::, AlienBear Designs, Candy Nail, Deviant Kitties, Reel Expression, sascha's designs, sin skins by Arcadia Nightfire Gothic Opulence […]

Leave a Reply

