Caged Bird

27 06 2009

invite

Tonight at 6 p.m. slt, my art exhibit opens at the Rara Avis Gallery.  It’s called Et in Arcadia Ego and is a collection of some of my favorite self-portraits.  I’ve posted the Artist Statement at the end of this post so you can get a better feel for what the show is about.  The lovely ladies of Rara Avis, Azriel Ballyhoo and Neneveh Teskat, will be in attendance, and Nineveh is going to be our DJ for the event.  Even if you can’t make the party, do stop by the gallery.  The show will be up until the end of July.  And besides, a trip to Rara Avis is always in order. 
 
One of my most recent self-portraits combined wings and lingerie.  I found the best store for wings, and I thought I’d share those with you here.

caged_032 copy

I’ve mentioned before that the bird cage at Chouchou Chouchou is my new favorite place to shoot lingerie, and I knew I wanted to do some out of the ordinary artistic portraits there.  While showing my friend and business partner Rhodesy Durant around Chouchou, she mentioned that a caged bird type of shoot might be interesting, and I immediately loved the idea.  So off I went on a hunt for wings.  I don’t know if you’ve ever looked for wings in SL, but there are a LOT of choices.  After tping around for a long while, I finally came to a store that had what I was looking for.  Material Squirrel has the amost amazing collection of gorgeous wings, and I spent a good hour there just trying them all on.  They have demo stands set in front of all the display walls where you can try on the wings by using a pull down menu and making selections.  I think that’s an ingenious marketing idea, because through standing on that little demo stand, I found about five pair of wings that I’d love to have.  In the end though, I settled on the Night Flight Black Wings for this shoot.  I chose them for several reasons: the detail is amazing, the textures divine, and they also had a floaty softness to them that I loved, especially for this shoot.  They were only 299L, which I think is a steal for the quality you get here.  Oh, and it also comes with a really fun HUD.

caged_040 copy

In a few of the photos for this shoot, I’m wearing a set of ArmBinders by Darien Caldwell.  His store, Dari’s Haus, is out of business now, and the avatar known as Darien Caldwell is no more.  If you go and visit his tomb though, you will find a box with all of the items he previously sold in his store, free of charge.  Not only is it free, but the items are all full perm as well.  These armbinders are fantastic, and can be tinted any color.  I thought they worked well for the Caged Bird concept I was going for here.  You can use them with any pose too, the arms don’t move once you put this thing on.

caged_013 copy

For the lingerie component of this look, I decided to wear Belle by Blacklace.  I’m a bad blogger and didn’t get to this when it first came out, but I absolutely love it.  Not only is it sexy and gorgeous, but it’s also so easy to mix and match the pieces between the several color options it comes in.  I bought four of them I believe, and the possibilities are extraordinary for mixing and matching here.  I’m wearing the corset cincher with garters from the Red set and the lace bra, panties, and fishnet stockings from the black set.  I love the lace on this bra; it’s sheer for an added touch of hotness.  I paired it with the Athena shoes from Tesla in darkheart. I adore these shoes and am so glad I finally figured out a few outfits to wear them with.  They’re sexy and feminine and powerful.  The hair is Robin by Magika because it’s the sexiest hairstyle ever.  I have it in every color it comes in, and still I want more.  The skin is Shiloh (Honey) in Nosferatu by ::Exodi::, of course.  I can’t seem to wear any other skins at the moment.

caged_038 copy

So next time you’re looking for wings, do check out Material Squirrel.  They have every kind of wing imaginable, and the quality is superb.  And for lingerie, Blacklace is always a must see.
 
Artist Statement for the Et in Arcadia Ego Exhibit:
 
Arcadia Nightfire poofed into existence almost a year and a half ago now, and my passion for SL Photography was not far behind.  I started as an office manager at MDR Photo Studio only a few months after logging into SL for the first time. While working there, I quickly discovered that not only did I have an eye for photography, I rather enjoyed taking pictures in this virtual land.  After a little training from one of the MDR co-founder Maht Wuyts, I was promoted to Photographer.  My passion for photography evolved as did MDR, and I am now a co-owner of the business with friend and fellow photographer, Rhodesy Durant. 


While the people behind MDR have changed, the studio’s guiding aesthetic remains the same as when it was founded.  We strive to shoot in-world photos that need little to no post-processing. While I love PhotoShop and am in awe of some of the amazing things people can do with that program, at MDR, we have always tried to capture the purity of this crazy virtual world we call home.  Great care is taken with lighting and framing in order to ensure that the photos we shoot in-world need merely some cropping and light adjustments. This same aesthetic can be seen in my self-portraits.  While I do use PhotoShop effects more on my self-portraits than I do for clients, you will still only find a bare minumum of effects–some diffuse glow here, a lens flare there.  I hardly ever use brushes or any other enhancements on my photos. 
 
The phrase “Et in Arcadia Ego” has been interpreted several ways, and though it is not the most accurate translation, I’ve always thought “in Arcadia, I exist” was the most poignant.  It speaks well to the nature of my self-portraits and so I chose it for the name of this exhibit.  My photos are reflections of the person behind the avatar.  I always try to capture something in my photos, be it a look, a mood, or an emotion, and nowhere is that more evident than in the photos you will see at this exhibit. 

My hope is that you will be able to sense the emotion or mood behind each picture and see the many varied reflections of my personality:  the dark and the light, the confident and the lost, the sexy and the shy, the bold and the frightened.  In Arcadia, I do indeed exist.
 
Many thanks to Azriel Ballyhoo and Nineveh Teskat for offering to do this exhibit.  I am honored to be the first artist featured here at Rara Avis.  Enjoy the show.

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info:
Skin: ::Exodi:: – Shiloh (Honey) – Nosferatu
Eyes: ::Exodi:: – Vetro Eyes, Blue sm. no veins
Hair: Magika – Robin – Blonde A
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Crimson
Lingerie: Blacklace – Belle Satin Corset Cincher and Bra Set, Black and Red versions
Shoes: Tesla – Athena, Darkheart
Wings: Material Squirrel – Night Flight Wings, Black
Arm Binders: Dari’s Haus – Colorable Binder, tinted Black
Collar: Sweet Dreams – Basic Collar, Black and Red
Necklace: Violet Voltaire – Melancholy, Red
Nose Piercing – Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud

Poses:
Photo #1 – Art Exhibit Invite – Long Awkward Pose – Earth Sleeps
Photo #2:  Bad Blogger did not write it down and now can’t find it.
Photo #3:  Long Awkward Pose – Dayum
Photo #4:  Damsel – She Wants It (used with armbinders)
Photo #5:  Long Awkward Pose – Dayum

Actions

Information

One response

27 06 2009
Caged Bird « iheartsl.com Second Life’s largest community blog

[…] Caged Bird 2009 June 26 tags: ::Exodi::, Blacklace, Chouchou Chouchou, Lingerie, Magika, Material Squirrel, Wings by Arcadia Nightfire Caged Bird […]

Leave a Reply

