Callie Cline Appreciation Day

21 05 2009

Last week’s Blogger Appreciation Week was amazing, culminating in a day of fun parties where the “uniform” of the day was white tank tops and jeans. It was really interesting to meet some of my fellow bloggers and a few designers as well.  Of course I had to snap a photo.

Snapshot_012 copy

The sheer amount of gifts has been a bit overwhelming.  I’m in awe at the generosity of the designers and of all the hard work that went into organizing such an event.  It’s a credit to those involved that all ran smoothly and drama-free.

I really never thought about myself being a big part of the fashion community.  I just write my little blog, do my own thing, and hope that the people that do read these pages will perhaps look at fashion in a different way or find a store they’ve never heard of before.  I don’t write to be part of the “fashion press” as some have put it.  But in a way, I guess we bloggers do provide press for designers, and I can imagine that up and coming designers especially benefit from being blogged.  And while I never really thought about my role in the SL Fashion Community before, I have to say, it was nice to be appreciated.

Of course, Blogger Appreciation Week would never have happened if not for the thoughtfulness and creativity of SL Fashion’s own Callie Cline.  I’d never really had any interaction with Callie before Blogger Appreciation Week.  I found her to be very nice and approachable, friendly and kind.  Generous goes without saying as she gave so much of her time and creativity to pull this whole event off, not to mention gifts from her store.  Because of all she has done, today has been declared Calle Cline Appreciation Day, and I thought I’d show you one of my favorite pieces from her very eclectic collection.  In the spirit of cooperation Callie so beautifully showed us this past week, I’m going to pair her wonderful design with an array of interesting pieces and see what kind of fun looks I can come up with.

One of my favorite pieces from Callie Cline is a new purchase that completly drew me in from the moment I saw it.  I don’t do a lot of plaid, but this one just had to come home with me.  Tarty Party is a cute little plaid dress that comes in seven different colors and can be worn in a myriad of ways.  I took home the black version and decided to go  punk with it.  First, I changed my skin to the Nekophelia version of Eden Sugar by ::Genesis::.

calliecline_018 copy

Next, I threw on the ripped fishnet stockings from Street Magic and the Ving Boots by Shiny Things.

calliecline_012 copy

Then, I added a recent purchase from Deviant Kitties, the Siyu hair in Black Taffy, which I got with the gift card Cajsa gave me for my birthday a few months back.  This hair is sort of cutesy punk with the side braid so I decided to run with that idea and added some cute stuff from Violet Voltaire; the Cake or Death necklace in Death (still available, btw) and the Lollipop Guild earrings in Licorice.  Can’t get much cuter than cake and lollipops you say?  Wait!  There’s more.  For a bit of fun and whimsy, I added my Count VonCount backpack from Surprise!.

calliecline_011 copy

Lara Aridian of Surprise! custom made this for me after I saw her line of plushies/backpacks in her store.  I do all of my gift bag shopping at Surprise! – it’s a really fun store.  She has a few different versions of these backpacks/plushies to choose from.  I have the Count plushie too, as does my friend Maht thanks to yours truly. They make great gifts.

Back to the outfit though: there was still something missing, so for a splash of color, I threw on the Mini Bolero Jacket from Ibizzare, and it totally completed the look.  Oh, and as a last minute touch, I added a great Blogger Appreciation gift: a ring by Callie Cline called the ROCK. Aptly named, it’s scripted so you can change the color of the stone to suit your outfit.  A lot of stuff going on with this, but in the end I came out cutesey punk – I feel just like Abby from NCIS.

calliecline_019 copy

I love the versatility of Tarty Party, and one of the ads in Callie’s store was so fantastic I decided to re-create it.  You can definitely go runway glam with this dress by adding Callie Cline’s Forever Sweater.  I went for a splash of color with this look too, and added the sweater in Cranberry. The sweater itself comes with a several options and is a versatile piece all it’s own.

calliecline_025 copy

If you belong to Callie’s group, you can get a box of fur accessories for these sweaters, and I’m using the arm cuffs and scarf. I kept the jewelry simple and continued wearing the ROCK by Callie Cline, completing my accessories with the Shooting Star earrings from Caroline’s Jewelry.

calliecline_029 copy

Stockings were a must with this look, so I paired it with these cute white trim stockings by Katat0nik that I received on the Ghost Hunt last fall.  For shoes, I wanted drama and couldn’t think of anything more dramatic for this look than the Athena Open-Toed Stiletto Boots by Tesla.  This pairing made me happy since I bought these ages ago and have yet to wear them.

calliecline_026 copy

Two very different looks with one dress.  You could wear this dress in so many ways, I could post for days on it.  But I won’t. 😉  A word to the wise though, this skirt is extra bouncy so do wear something underneath.
Thank you so much for appreciating us Bloggers, Callie.  I hope you know the feeling is mutual.
Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info:
**No current review items were used in this post. Previously reviewed items are marked with PRI.**

Party Photo
Skin: ::Genesis:: – Eden Sugar, Codie **PRI**
Hair: ETD – Willow, Elika’s Red
Eyes: Eye AC – darkturquoise
Tank & Jeans – Callie Cline for Blogger Appreciation Week

Outfit #1:
Skin: ::Genesis:: – Eden Sugar, Nekophelia
Hair: Deviant Kitties – Siyu, Black Taffy **GIFT CARD**
Eyes: Bare Rose – Eyes B Purple Eyes **FREEBIE**
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Black
Dress: Callie Cline – Tarty Party, (B&W)
Shrug: Ibizarre – Mini Bolero Jacket, Purple **FREEBIE**
Stockings: Street Magic – Black Torn Fishnet Stockings
Shoes: Shiny Things – Ving Boots, Black
Backpack: Surprise! – Count VonCount Backpack
Jewelry: Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud
WRONG – Sanity Jelly Bracelets
Urban Dare – Leather Bracer – 2 Strap, Left
Callie Cline – The ROCK ring **Blogger Appreciation Gift**
Violet Voltaire – Cake or Death Necklace, Death
Violet Voltaire – Lollipop Guild Earrings, Licorice

Outfit #2
Skin: ::Genesis:: – Eden Sugar, Codie **PRI**
Eyes: Eye AC – darkturquoise
Hair: ETD – Aiiyanna, Black
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Crimson
Dress: Callie Cline – Tarty Party, (B&W)
Sweater: Callie Cline – Forever Sweater Short, Cranberry
Scarf & Arm Cuffs – Callie Cline – Fun Box Fur Accessories **GROUP GIFT**
Stockings: Katat0nik – White Trim Stockings, Black **HUNT GIFT**
Shoes: Tesla – Athena Open-Toe Stiletto Boots, Darkheart
Jewelry: Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud
Caroline’s Jewelry – Shoot Stars Set, Earrings Only
Callie Cline – the ROCK ring **Blogger Appreciation Gift**

Poses:



Photo #1: Reel Expressions – *Luth* Shoes 02
Photo #2: Fireflies – fireflies sadsit
Photo #3: Fireflies – fireflies 03
Photo #4: Lyndz-Matic – Against The Cold
Photo #5: Long Awkward Pose – Back To The Wall
Photo #6: Long Akward pose – F-Blogger2
Photo #7: Long Awkward Pose – Bolly 9

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 05 2009
Callie Cline Appreciation Day « iheartsl.com Second Life’s largest community blog

[…] Callie Cline Appreciation Day 2009 May 21 tags: Callie Cline, Callie Cline Appreciation Day, fashion by Arcadia Nightfire Callie Cline Appreciation Day […]

21 05 2009
Cajsa Lilliehook

Two great looks that are totally you!! and I **LOVE** Abby!!!!

22 05 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Thanks, Caj. 😉 I’m rather fond of her myself.

Leave a Reply

