Key to the Moon

10 05 2009

*EDIT*

This week has been pretty huge for me in world.  Fellow photographer Rhodesy Durant and I have taken over at MDR Photo Studio from Cajsa Lilliehook and Maht Wuyts.  It’s been bittersweet in a lot of ways.  The end of an era, I guess you could say.  I’ll miss working with them, but thankfully we are good friends and will see each other often enough.  I hope Rhodesy and I can continue the great MDR tradition that Maht and Cajsa began.  On the other hand, being in charge means lots of decision making and general stress.  So with that in mind, I decided I wanted to do something a little celebratory and fun for my second post building an outfit from the jewelry out with a set from Violet Voltaire.

While perusing through the many folders named Violet Voltaire in my inventory, I came across the Dollie set and knew immediately that I wanted to blog it tonight.  It just made me smile.  The silver key motif is quite delicate with diamond accents to give it a touch of elegance.  What I like most about this set, besides the fact that it’s made of silver and diamonds, is the versatility of it.  You can wear it with an elegant dress for a night out or with a shirt and a pair of jeans if you want to go casual.  The diamonds on the earrings and necklace make it perfect for an interesting formal look. 

Snapshot_028 copy

I went somewhere in between though, and pulled out a fabulous dress by Digit Darkes

Rain comes in several colors, but I chose silver because it reminded me of the moon.  Technically, this was a gift since I used the Digit Darkes gift card that Sasy gave me many moons ago to purchase it.  To say I love this dress would be an understatement.  I really hated to take it off.

It’s definitely runway worthy but could also be worn to a more informal party, depending on what you pair it with.  The asymetrical skirt is made up of little sequined rain drop shapes and it’s probably my favorite part of this dress.  It moves exquisitely, floating out around you as you move and then coming back to rest gently on the legs.  The black garters underneath the dress are an interesting and sexy touch.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about them at first but once I put it on, I *got* it.  The back of this dress is unbelievably sexy and the texture on this is astonshing; it has to be one of the best pieces I own.  For shoes, I decided to continue my silver theme and grab the Chelle shoes from ZHAO.

Snapshot_029 copy

With hair, I wanted to take it a bit more formal so I grabbed the Aiiyanna updo from ETD.  For skin, I wanted something a bit soft, but still dark so I threw on the Eden Sugar by ::Genesis:: in the Rockstar option.

Snapshot_025 copy

After snapping for a while in the new studio, I decided to head up into the clouds and try out my moon swing.  I picked this up at Cutie Honey whilst doing one of the hunts a few months back. 

Snapshot_038 copy

It’s absolutely adorable and has tons of  poses in it; some for couples and some for a single person.  I used my own poses for this dress, however.  And I couldn’t resist snapping a shot of this skirt in mid-swirl.

Snapshot_022 copy

Nothing like swinging on the moon to relax a girl.  It was just the little break I needed.

Yet another outfit built from the jewelry out.  The Dollie set comes with earrings, necklace, and a doll key.  It’s one of the more inexpensively priced items at Violet Voltaire, and well worth it.  This lovely, delicate piece is very well crafted and an asset to any jewelry box.  Make sure you check out her sale before it ends on May 16th.

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info:
Skin: ::Genesis:: – Eden Sugar, Rockstar **PRI**
Eyes: Eye AC – darkturquoise
Hair: ETD – Aiiyanna, Crimson
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Crimson
Pedicure: Candy Nail – #000 Basic Toenails, Red
Dress: Digit Darkes – Rain, Silver **Gift Card**
Shoes: ZHAO – Chelle, Silver
Jewelry: Violet Voltaire – Dollie Jewelry Set (not wearing Doll key)
Caroline’s Jewelry – Graduated Diamond Set (only bracelet)
Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud

Poses:
Photo #1:  Long Awkward Pose – Aw Shucks
Photo #2:  AnnaH – Model Behavior 4
Photo #3:  Striking Poses – Lara_Croft_7
Photo #4:  Striking Poses – Victoria_Beckham_9
Photo #5: Long Awkward Pose – F-Blogger 2

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 05 2009
Key to the Moon « iheartsl.com Second Life’s largest community blog

[…] Key to the Moon 2009 May 9 tags: digit darkes, Etd, genesis, Violet Voltaire, zhao by Arcadia Nightfire Key to the Moon […]

10 05 2009
Cajsa Lilliehook

Wow! Great pose. I love that dress and had not seen it before. I thought I knew every outfit in Digit’s store. lol.

11 05 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Thanks, Caj. It’s funny…I’ve never really shopped there before but she has some great stuff. This dress really jumped out at me though. It’s truly stunning.

Leave a Reply

