Two to Tango

21 04 2009

And apparently it takes two tries to get this post published.  *glares at the internet*

Versatility is the key to any good wardrobe.  Having those pieces that can be worn with several different “looks” can easily double the size of your closet, be it real or virtual.  That’s probably my favorite thing about fashion: taking one item and styling it this way and that.  Of course, my SL wardrobe is considerably larger than my RL one, and I often have things in more than one color.  My virtual wardrobe is versatile beyond belief sometimes.  And sometimes, I even surprise myself with what I come up with.  Take the Madrid skirt from Leezu Baxter, for example.  I adore this skirt, and I own it in both red and this gorgeous teal and blue confection called Candy.  I’ve worn both colors recently, in very different ways.

21

I took the Candy version of the Madrid skirt and styled it with a little Latin flair.  I wanted to go dancing…tango, to be exact.  I love the tango.  I love the passion and power inherent in it, and the graduated hemline of this high-waisted skirt immediately made me think of the dance.  To go with this lovely skirt, I grabbed the top from the FarAway dress by Bijou, and much to my delight, the colors matched perfectly.

11

I knew I wanted a sort of sexy pulled back style, and the new Aradia hair from TRUTH was just the right hair for the look.  The gorgeous flower on the side is scripted so you can change the color to match whatever you are wearing.

31

It went perfectly with the look I was trying to create.  For skin, I picked the ::Genesis:: Eden Sugar skin in the Codie makeup version because I wanted those powerful red lips and smokey eyes.  Black stockings and strappy shoes finished off the look.

For the Leezu Baxter Forbidden Photo Contest, I knew I wanted to go Goth with the Xmas version of the Madrid skirt.  I paired it with just the top of the Courtisane lingerie in red that I had recently purchased and added the Courtisane Allumeuse boots for a bit of sensual drama.

52

For hair, I chose the Katya hair by Deviant Kitties in Red Licoricie.  The skin is one of the new Forbidden skins by LionSkins, they have a store right next to Leezu Baxter on her To The Nines SIM.  This new Goth line of skins is extensive; with so many choices, it was hard to pick just one to shoot for the contest.  This is number 10, and I love the little details on this…like the drop of blood sliding down the cheek, and the fantastic pattern across the eye area.

41

There are several more of these Forbidden skins that I will eventually buy.  I liked almost every single one they offered.  For jewelry, I went with this fantastic silver Ankh necklace from Caroline’s Jewelry and some goggles from the Abyss.  I didn’t win the contest, of course, but I was happy with the look I created; it’s unusual and hot.  I even wore it out later that night to a club  and while exploring MDR’s new spooky forest.

3457091109_e066353aaf_b1

One fantastic skirt, two very different looks.  Another lesson in versatility–the sometimes overlooked best friend of every fashionista.

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info:
**No review items were used in this post. Previously reviewed items will be marked as such with “PRI” in the model info below.**

Look #1:
Skin: ::Genesis:: – Eden Sugar, Codie **PRI**
Eyes: ::Genesis:: – Speculation Eyes, Blue **GIFT**
Hair: TRUTH – Aradia, Night
Shirt: Bijou – FarAway (top only), Aquablue
Skirt: Leezu Baxter Design – Madrid Flexi Skirt, Candy
Stockings: Falln Designs, Noel Dress Stockings(part of Noel outfit), Black
Shoes: Mary Jane Shoes: *IM* – Promiscuous, Black
Jewelry: Frangipani Designs – Blue Swirl Drop Earrings
Ephemeral Creations – Jangle Bangle Bracelets, Steel
Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud

Look #2:
Skin: LionSkins – Forbidden 10
Eyes: Lucky Monkey – Neko Eyes, Turquoise/Purple
Hair: Deviant Kitties – Katya, Red Licorice
Gloves: Leezu Baxter Design – Nif Nif Gloves, Black
Shirt: Courtisane – Lingerie (top), Red
Skirt: Leezu Baxter Design – Madrid Flexi Skirt. Xmas
Stockings: Courtisane – Lingerie (stockings), Red
Shoes: Courtisane – Allumeuse, Black
Caroline’s – Ankh Cross, Silver
Shit Luck – Crossing Lip piercing female
The Abyss – Infared Goggles Model #2012 [Unisex], Black Sky Reflection
Sn@tch – Apnea Tattoos
Urban Dare – Leather Arm Straps

Poses:
Photo #1:  Reel Expression – *Luth* – Movement 1
Photo #2:  Reel Expression – *Luth* – Innocence 06
Photo #3:  unknown
Photo #4:  Long Awkward Pose – Awmahgah
Photo #5:  Long Awkward Pose – Cam Ham
Photo #6:  Lost Angel – ACTION – Unisex – Cat Eyes

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 04 2009
Two to Tango « iheartsl.com Second Life’s largest community blog

[…] Two to Tango 2009 April 20 tags: Bijou, Deviant Kitties, fashion, LeeZu Baxter, Truth by Arcadia Nightfire Two to Tango […]

21 04 2009
Stacie Pryor

Two great looks! Very nice! 🙂

21 04 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Thanks, Stacie. 😉

21 04 2009
Cajsa Lilliehook

I love the looks, both are fantastic and I love that skirt. Love the shots in the scary forest.

21 04 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Thanks, Cajsa. You know that skirt comes in green as well. i thought of you when I saw it in the store. You should go snag it if you don’t already have it!

Leave a Reply

