Simply Fabulous

7 04 2009

I’ve always thought that Nicky Ree was one of the more talented designers in SL.  I’ve photographed a few of her dresses, and they are quite well done.  The textures are always lovely, and the movement is fun to capture in photos.  However, I’ve never really bought any of her designs before.  While well done, most of them are not usually my personal style.  And some of the more grandiose designs tend to be a bit out of my budget, though if I saw something I fell in love with that totally would not stop me.  I think the main reason I don’t shop there is because her store layout drives me utterly mad.  I can’t stand it for five minutes, usually, without getting angry.   However, last night I braved the madness to go check out the newest release from Designing Nicky Ree: Water Nymph Adrie.

adrie_011-copy

I’d seen it on the feed a week or so ago and knew I had to have it immediately.  See, the ocean is my favorite place in the whole world.  It’s the one place I feel….at home, peaceful, like all is right with the world.  Unfortunately, I don’t live by an ocean right now (though I hope to change that one day).  So , instead, I tend to gravitate strongly towards things that remind me of it–colors, shapes, sounds, smells, photos.  The minute I put Adrie on, I was instantly there.  Virtually there as well since I shot these in the ocean outside of the studio on MDR‘s sim.

This is a Goddess dress.  It’s flowly at the bottom, a bit revealing on top.  It subtly traces the curves of your body like water gliding along your skin only to pool nicely at your feet.

waternymph_001-copy

You can wear it four different ways, and we all know how much I love versatility.  I probably like the v.2 top the best, though the sheer sleeves on the v. 3 option lends an interesting asthetic.

adrie_013-copy

There are four different top versions, by the way.  This set really does give new meaning to the word versatility.  The hand-painted texture on this is quite delicate, and it comes in a variety of color options, though for me there was never really any other choice but the light blue.  I added the Model Hair 02 from ::69:: to give the windswept illusion to my look.  For skin, I chose the Reluctant option of the Eden Sugar skin from ::Genesis::.  The pale blue eyeshadow gave the look a softness that worked beautifully with this dress.

adrie_003-copy

I also paired it with the Eostre set from Alienbear’s Designs.  She’s having a special hunt until the 15th of April for this set.  You TP to different Aienbear locations and hunt for little eggs.  There is a clue as to the location of the next one in each egg, though, so it’s really not hard.  There are seven pieces, but you have to be a member of her group to get the very last piece.  With pink, blue, and a hint of purple, this is a very “spring” set, and it was the perfect addition to this dress.  In fact, it would work with several colors and probably a few things you already have in your inventory.  TP to the main store and click the sign to get more info on this.

What I didn’t realize until I actually went to buy the Water Nymph dress is that it comes in two versions, Adrie and Nadia.  Nadia has the same beautiful water-like texture and bodice options, but it comes with a tutu, a short skirt and a ballgown skirt.  You can buy these versions seperately or together, and I loved the ballgown skirt so much I decided to buy the pack of both of them and save myself a bit of money in the process.

waternymph_039-copy

Nadia is so beautiful.  I felt entirely too much like a Princess when I put it on, and I am hoping someone decides to throw a Grand Ball so I have an excuse to wear it.  I tried to capture some of the movement of this beautiful skirt in my photos because it’s lovely to watch.

waternymph_032-copy

It’s like being surrounded by waves of water. Again, the hand-painted textures here are stunning.  I can’t say enough good things about this design.  It’s simply lovely.

nickyree_020-copy

I really didn’t change much from the previous look with Adrie except the hair.  I choose a more traditional updo for this dress and went with the Janae hair from ETD.

waternymph_030-copy

Another new release I wasn’t aware of caught my eye while I was at Designing Nicky Ree.  The Darling Didi gown is a sleek, sophisticated dress worthy of any red carpet Diva.  It took me awhile to decide on a color as there are several fantastic options, but in the end I chose the Pearl because I don’t have very many items that color in my inventory, and it is the one that initally caught my eye.  I should just stop over thinking things, huh?

nickyree_009-copy

I love the sexy sophistication of this dress.  The satiny texture on this is so incredibly life-like, and the color contrast of the bodice and gloves finishes off the look.  I especially love the texture on the back.

nickyree_003-copy

Again, the lovely skirts pool around your feet for a bit of drama, and the lace design on the waist is echoed along the bottom of the prim skirts.

nickyree_010-copy

Hand-drawn, of course, it’s really quite feminine and delicate and is truly what I love most about this dress.  It adds a lovely touch of feminity to go along with the elegance and sensuality this dress exudes.  I paired it with a pearl choker from Muse, but you could just as easily wear it with diamonds.  For makeup, I went with the more dramatic Codie option on the Eden Sugar skin from ::Genesis::.  And to keep the elegance and drama going, Sofia by ETD was the perfect hairstyle choice for this dress.

nickyree_005-copy

Darling Didi is already one of my favorite dresses, and I’ve only worn it once.  Party anyone?

So, if you’re like me and don’t often buy Nicky Ree designs, maybe you should check out these new releases.  I was blown away by the fabulousness of these three dresses and am incredibly glad I braved the maddening store layout to snag them.

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

**A quick note about the photos: I deliberately did not smooth out the areas where the prim skirts met the rest of the dresses so you could see exactly what it is you were buying. Like all prim skirts, these need adjusting to specifically fit your av’s shape. **

Model Info:
Outfit 1
Skin: ::Genesis:: – Eden Sugar, Reluctant **PRI**
Eyes: ::Genesis:: – Speculation Eyes, Blue **GIFT**
Hair: ::69:: – Model Hair 02, Lightbrown
Manicure: Candy Nail – #021 Clear Blue
Pedicure: Candy Nail – #021 Clear Toenails Blue
Gown: Designing Nicky Ree – Water Nymph, Adrie
Jewelry: Alienbear Designs – Eostre Set **HUNT GIFT**
Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud

Outfit 2:
Skin: ::Genesis:: – Eden Sugar, Reluctant **PRI**
Eyes: ::Genesis:: – Speculation Eyes, Blue **GIFT**
Hair: ETD – Janae, Blonde
Pedicure: Candy Nail – #021 Clear Toenails Blue
Gown: Designing Nicky Ree – Water Nymph, Nadia
Shoes: ZHAO – Chelle, SIlver
Jewelry: Alienbear Designs – Eostre Set **HUNT GIFT**
Inks & Kinks – Diamond Nostril Stud

Outfit 3:
Skin: ::Genesis:: – Eden Sugar, Codie **PRI**
Eyes: ::Genesis:: – Speculation Eyes, Blue **GIFT**
Hair: ETD -Sofia, Black
Pedicure: Candy Nail #000 Basic Toenails Red
Gown: Designing Nicky Ree – Didi Gown, Pearl
Shoes: ZHAO – Lucia , Black
Jewelry: Muse – Catherine White Pearl Cocktail Ring, Platinum
Muse- Claris Pearl and Diamond Bracelet, Silver
Muse – Claris Pearl and Diamond Earrings, Silver
Muse – Claris Pearl and Diamond Choker, Silver

Poses:
Photo #1:  Long Awkward Pose – F-Blogger9-Poofyskirt
Photo #2: TorridWear – Wallflower 13
Photo #3:  Long Awkward Pose – F-Blogger9-Poofyskirt
Photo #4:  TorridWear – Wallflower 13
Photo #5:  Reel Expressions – Luth Funky V2 09
Photo #6:  Reel Expressions – Luth Funky V2 03
Photo #7:  Reel Expressions – Luth Funky V2 01
Photo #8:  Reel Expressions – Luth Funky V2 01
Photo #9:  Reel Expressions – Luth Innocence 06
Photo #10: Reel Expressions – Luth Party Dress 04
Photo #11: Reel Expressions – Luth Innocence 06
Photo #12: Reel Expressions – Luth Party Dress 03

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 04 2009
7 04 2009
Cajsa Lilliehook

In that ballgown, swirling as you did with your blonde hair in an updo , you looked like a morning glory.

7 04 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Interesting…it does sort of look like that. 😉

Leave a Reply

