I Ride the Subway at Night.

3 03 2009

Beulah Mills sent me a notecard awhile ago about a challenge to various fashion bloggers, and I was honored to be included.  The basic premise of this challenge is to take a piece of clothing from Ivalde and make it your own, so to speak. Having different people create different looks can really show the versatility of a design, and even an entire collection, such as the case here.  People tend to think Vintage when they think of Ivalde, but that doesn’t have to be the only word associated with it.  I am guilty of this, myself.  Before this challenge, I had been to Ivalde once or twice, but it wasn’t really my style.  I thought it was too Vintage for me.

For the challenge, I was asked to choose one outfit that the designer and woman behind Ivalde, Neferia Abels, would then send me for review.  I wandered around the store for a while and saw some very nice designs, but one dress caught my eye:  the Fiola dress.
 
First, I wanted to show you the dress just as it comes; it’s quite cute. 

 ivalde_020-copy2

A little too short for my own personal taste, but it could easily be worn to a party or dance and even out on a date.  I can already think of one event I might even wear this to.  You can never have too many little black dresses in your inventory, really.

ivalde_018-copy

The design of the top is what caught my eye.  It has a crocheted like quality to it.  I love the intricate, lacy look of it.  It lends such flair to the dress.  Imagine my surprise when I found that it was in the 1970’s section.  This dress may be the only thing I like about the 70s!
 
After shooting the dress the way it was designed, it was time to make it my own. I do love to mix-and-match.

ivalde_013-copy

I tend to do Urban Chic quite often, and this top sort of naturally went in that direction.  I paired it with the Vintage 01 jeans from Emery.  I love the texture and color on these jeans, and the fact that they have skinny legs doesn’t hurt, either.  The new Ving Boots from Shiny Things were the next touch.  I know these boots have been blogged all over the internet and back again, but they really are fantastic.  The shape and texture are stunning and lend a bit of edge to this outfit.  Hence the title of this post, that my friend Rhodesy came up with.  I’m Urban Chic but with these boots I can still kick ass if I need too.

ivalde_011-copy

For hair, I’m not sure there is anything more Urban Chic than the Janine hair from ETD.  I love this hair, and the fact that you can change the color and texture of the hat with a drop down menu just adds to it’s versatility.  For accessories, I went with the old trusted favorites: the Sanity Jelly Bracelts from WRONG, the Arm Bracer from Urban Dare and the lip piercing from Shit Luck.  I chose the Teardrop Earrings from Miriel because their intricate design complimented the top quite well.  Oh, and for the finishing touch, the Red Plaid Suspenders from WRONG. 

In the end, I took what is essentially a Vintage top and mixed and matched till I came up with a look that is definitely modern.

ivalde_008-copy
Perhaps we can all learn a lesson from this challenge by Beulah Mills.  Just because something is “vintage” or not your style, doesn’t mean you can’t stir things up and till it suits your style.  Explore the versatility of design; it’s what makes fashion fun.

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio

Model Info – Look 1:

Skin:  Celestial Studios – Charmed Skin 20 (Glitter-Silver 2)
Eyes:  Eye AC – darkturquoise
Hair:  ETD – Aiiyanna, Elika’s Brown
Manicure:  Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Crimson
Pedicure:  Candy Nails – Basic Toenails Red
Shoes:  Storm Schmooz – Mimi, Black
Dress:  Ivalde – Fiola, Black **REVIEW ITEM**
Jewelry:  Inks & Kinks – Nostril Diamond Stud
Muse – Claris Pearl and Diamond Bracelet in Silver
Claris Pear and Diamond Earrings in Silver
Catherine White Pearl Cocktail Ring

Model Info – Look 2:

Skin:  Celestial Studios – Charmed Skin 20 (Glitter- Silver 2)
Eyes:  Eye AC – darkturquoise
Hair:  ETD – Janine, Scarlet
Manicure:  Sin Skins – Glitter Manicure, Black
Piercings:  Shit Luck – Crossing Lippiercing female
Inks & Kinks – Nostril Diamond Stud
Tattoo:  Sn@tch – Apnea Tattoos
Shoes:  Shiny Things – Ving Boots, Black
Jewelry:  Miriel – Teardop Earrings, Silver
WRONG – Sanity Jelly Bracelets, Black
Urban Dare – Leather Bracer – 2 Strap – Left
Acessories:  WRONG – Suspenders, Red Plaid
Shirt:  Ivalde – Fiola, Black (part of a dress) **REVIEW ITEM**
Jeans – Emery – Denim Vintage 01

Poses:

Photos #1 & #2:  Long Awkward Pose – Give Me Seductive
Photo #3: Street Magic – SM Pose 27
Photo #4: Long Awkward Pose – Timid Girl
Photo #5: Long Awkward Pose – Doin Right

Actions

Information

6 responses

3 03 2009
Cajsa Lilliehook

Great post! I love the way you transformed the look of the top.

3 03 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Thanks, Caj. 😉

3 03 2009
Gabby Panacek

Nice look. The lace on that top is fantastice. Great spin on vintage.

3 03 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Thanks, Gabby. 🙂 It was a fun challenge.

7 03 2009
Gidge Uriza

That is absolutely vintage store-modern-urban chic. Well done.

7 03 2009
Arcadia Nightfire

Aw, thanks Gidge. 😉

Leave a Reply

