Search & Destroy

3 05 2010

I’ve been in a blogging funk lately.  It’s not that I don’t have anything TO blog…I just haven’t had the desire to actually do it.  Call it being in a rut, or being lazy, or whatever you want.  All I know is two weeks is too long to be in any kind of rut.  To knock myself out of it and get back into blogging, I did what I always do when I’m feeling creatively blocked.  I put on some music and see where it takes me. 

Last night I was listening to a cover of the Iggy Pop classic “Search & Destroy” and sifting through my massive inventory.  Lo and behold, a look started to emerge influenced directly by the music blaring in my ears.  It’s a bit glam, a bit punk, a bit rock and a lot fashionista. 

The idea for the look actually started with these fantastic glasses from [glow] Studios.  The Shutter Shades come in day and night versions (I’m wearing night here) and are super cheap.  You can find them in The Dressing Room, the special place where designers put fantastic items up at super great prices.  I decided I wanted an edgy short hairstyle so I grabbed the Minako hair from Kin.  The headband comes in a print but I tinted it black for this look. 

For the actual body of the look, I grabbed the fabulous Brit Pants by Leezu Baxter.  I love the gorgeous texture on these pants and the little embellishments along the leg.  But the ruffles on the bottom were kind of throwing me a bit, so I took them off and added the Prestige Boots from Bax Coen.  The top is actually part of the Shredded dress from The Plastik.  I love the idea of a shredded shirt.  It’s incredibly sexy without being too much.  Also, I thought the combination of the torn shirt with those gorgeous pants was an interesting aesthetic.  I then added the Nine jacket from Emery for more of a rocker type look.

For the finishing touches, I added the new Chandraki set from Earthstones in Onyx/Silver.  I absolutely love this set.  It’s so chic and pretty but still unusual enough to work with a look like this.  I also added the Beautiful Slave Bracelets from Earthstones for a fun touch.  And we can’t forget this fantastic belt – it’s the Asaka belt from Digit Darkes.  I bought this ages ago and I think it’s the first time I’ve worn it.  It was the perfect piece to finish off my Rocker Chick look.

An outfit inspired by a song.  I like to think my attempt to break out of my blogging slump was successful, but only time will tell.  And, for your listening pleasure I’ve included a link to the song that inspired this look. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXdIifOwUZ8

Photography by Arcadia Nightfire, MDR Photo Studio
Photos shot on location at Urban Dare

Model Info:
Skin: ::Exodi:: – Shiloh (Honey), Nosferatu Lt Brows
Eyes: Fusemelon – Radiance Eyes, Midday
Glasses: [glow] Studio – Shutter Shades, Night
Hair: Kin – Minako, Cherry (headband tinted black)
Manicure: Sin Skins – Glitter manicure, Black
Shirt: [Plastik] – Shredded, Silver (part of a dress)
Pants: Leezu! – Brit Pants, Black
Boots: Bax Coen – Prestige Boots, Black
Jacket: Emery – Jacket Nine
Belt: Digit Darkes – Asaka Belt, Black
Jewelry: Inks & Kinks – Nostril Diamond Stud
Earthstones: Chandraki Set, Onyx/Silver
Earthstones: Beautiful Slave Bracelets, Moonstone
[skream!] – the beauty mark piercing

Poses:
Photo #1:  (with love & squalor) – Glue Girls
Photo #2:  (with love & squalor) – I Think I Wanna Die
Photo #3:  (with love & squalor) – I Think I Wanna Die
Photo #4:  (with love & squalor) – Glue Girls


Actions

Information

2 responses

10 05 2010
Cajsa Lilliehook

Great look! I particularly love the shredded top – and that’s the first shredded top that I really liked. The pants look hot with the boots, too. And the sunglasses are WoWza!

10 05 2010
Arcadia Nightfire

Thanks, Cajsa. It’s really the first well done shredded top I’ve come across. Or, I guess I should say dress since it is just the top of one. I’ve bought a few tops like that only to be terribly disappointed when I tried them on. This one was really well done though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

